

Agenda Schools Forum

Monday 15 January 2024 at 2.30 pm in Annexe 2 - Sandwell Council House, Oldbury

1	Apologies for Absence.	11 - 12
	To receive any apologies for absence.	
2	Declarations of Interest	13 - 14
	Members to declare any interests in matters to be discussed at the meeting.	
3	Minutes	15 - 32
	To confirm the minutes of the meetings held on 6 November and 11 December 2023 as a correct record.	
4	Dedicated Schools Grant Allocations and Draft Budgets 2024/25	33 - 44
	To note the Dedicated Schools Grant Allocations and Draft Budgets 2024/25 and note the use of the capping and scaling exercise.	
5	Schools Closedown Timetable 2023/24	45 - 48
	To note the Schools Closedown Timetable 2023/24.	



6 Future Meeting Dates

All meetings are in person at the Sandwell Council House.

- 18 March 2024
- 1 July 2024

7 **AOB**

Safeguarding arrangements and the exploration of a DSG contribution.

Workstreams and SEND Working Group

Shokat Lal Chief Executive

Sandwell Council House Freeth Street Oldbury West Midlands

Distribution

N Toplass (Chair) J Barry, M Arnull, S Baker, D Barton, E Benbow, L Bray, D Broadbent, J Farmer, G Faux, K Featherstone, Flowers, A Gilbert, C Hadley, C Handy, K Hazlewood, W Lawrence, L Mason, S Mistry, L Moore, R Reed, C Spooner, D Steen, J Topham and Union

Contact: democratic_services@sandwell.gov.uk

Schools Forum Distribution to Members:

Body / Number of positions on Forum	Nominated Member	Nominated Substitute
Head Teachers Advisory Forum – Maintained Primary Schools (5)	Sally Baker Jamie Barry Wendy Lawrence Alison Gilbert Seema Mistry	Lynne Paino Alison Connop Sarah Penny Andrew Dickinson Kelly Duff
School Governors – Maintained Primary Schools (2)	Deborah Steen Elaine Benbow	Nomination awaited Nomination awaited
Head Teachers Advisory Forum – Maintained Secondary Schools (1)	Christina Handy- Rivett	Mike Smith
School Governors – Maintained Secondary Schools (1)	Dawn Broadbent	Nomination awaited
Special School (Maintained) (1)	Oliver Flowers	Nomination awaited
Pupil Referral Unit (Maintained (1)	Kate Hazelwood	Nomination awaited
Academies Primary (3)	Lucy Bray Rob Reed Joe Farmer	Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Helen Heap
Academies Secondary (6)	Mark Arnull James Topham Leigh Moore George Faux Lisa Mason Keziah Featherstone	Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited
Special Academies	Neil Toplass	Nomination awaited
Trade Union (1)	Darren Barton	Phil Jones
Early Years Partnership (1)	Claire Spooner	Nomination awaited
14-19 Provider (1)	Claire Hadley	Robert Pickup

Schools Forum: Voting Blocks (Who can vote and on what?)

Primary Maintained Block	Voting
Headteachers Sally Baker Jamie Barry Alison Gilbert Wendy Lawrence Seema Mistry	Can vote on all business except secondary school de-delegation.
Governors Deborah Steen Elaine Benbow	

Secondary Maintained Block	Voting
Headteachers	
J Christina Handy-Rivett	Can vote on all business except primary
	school de-delegation.
Governors	
Dawn Broadbent	

Special Block	Voting
Oliver Flowers	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de-delegation and education functions.

Academies Block	Voting
Lucy Bray (Primary)	
Rob Reed (Primary)	
Joe Farmer (Primary)	
James Topham (Secondary)	
Mark Arnull (Secondary)	Can vote on all business except primary
Leigh Moore (Secondary)	and secondary school de-delegation and education functions.
George Faux (Secondary)	
Lisa Mason (Secondary)	
Keziah Featherstone	
(Secondary)	

Schools Forum: Voting Blocks (Who can vote and on what?)

Continued...

Special Academies (1)	Voting
Neil Toplass	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de-delegation and education functions.

Pupil Referral Unit	Voting
Kate Hazelwood	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de-delegation and education functions.

NON-SCHOOL MEMBERS

Early Years Partnership	Voting
Claire Spooner	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de- delegation and education functions.

Trade Union	Voting
Darren Barton NUT	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de- delegation and school funding formula.

16-19 Provider	Voting
Claire Hadley	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de- delegation and school funding formula.

Schools Forum: Quorum

- (a) A meeting will only be quorate if 40% of the total active membership is present (Voting Members Only). Where a nominated substitute member is in attendance on behalf of a duly appointed member, he/she shall be included in the number of persons present for the purposes of determining if a quorum has been achieved.
- (b) If the meeting is inquorate, it will be able to proceed but cannot legally take decisions (E.g. Election of a Chairperson, or a decision relating to funding conferred by the funding regulations). An inquorate meeting can respond to authority consultation and give views to the authority. The authority can take account of such views

Information about meetings in Sandwell



If you are attending the meeting and require assistance to access the venue, please contact Democratic Services (democratic services@sandwell.gov.uk).



If the fire alarm sounds, please follow the instructions of the officers present and leave the building by the nearest exit.



Only people invited to speak at a meeting may do so. Everyone at the meeting is expected to be respectful and listen to the discussion.



Agendas with reports with exempt information should be treated as private and confidential. It is your responsibility to ensure that any such reports are kept secure. After the meeting confidential papers should be disposed of in a secure way.



This meeting may be recorded and broadcast on the Internet. If this is the case, it will be confirmed at the meeting and further information will be provided.



You are allowed to use devices for the purposes of recording or reporting during the public session of the meeting. When using your devices they must not disrupt the meeting – please ensure they are set to silent.



Members who cannot attend the meeting should submit apologies by contacting Democratic Services (democratic services@sandwell.gov.uk)



All agenda, reports, minutes for Sandwell Council's meetings, councillor details and more are available from our <u>website</u>